You may wish to allow students to retake a formative for various reasons. There are three ways to do this in Formative:
- Remove student responses
- Enable students to edit their responses
- Make a copy of a formative and assign the copy as a retake
Read on to find out more about each of these options!
1. Remove student responses
You can reset a student's formative by removing their responses in the "View Responses" tab. This will remove all data from the student so far, allowing them to start the formative over from scratch. Click here to learn more about removing student responses.
Note that once the student responses are removed, they cannot be restored; so only choose this option if you do not need that set of data!
2. Enable students to edit their responses
If you would like students to be able to update their responses, you can go back into your "Assign" settings and change the "After Submission" setting to "Enable edits." Click here to learn more about enabling edits.
This will allow all students to edit their responses as many times as they wish to, until the formative is closed. If only one or two students need to edit their responses, you can restrict the formative to those students (Premium) at the same time as enabling edits (this will close the formative for the rest of the students in the class).
3. Make a copy of a formative and assign the copy as a retake
Make a clone of your formative and assign it to individual students (Premium) as a way for them to retake the assignment. This will allow you to compare their growth by keeping the original data. Click here to learn more about copying formatives.